Belgian hopeful for 2020 Eurovision Song Contest Hooverphonic has replaced their vocalist Luka Cruysberghs with their first ever vocalist Geike Arnaert.

The news was revealed through twitter accounts of the group and the Belgian broadcaster VRT that Geike Arnaert will be the new lead singer of the group and also the front woman of the group in Eurovision Song Contest 2021.

Hooverphonic was announced as the Belgian representative by the Belgian broadcaster VRT back in the 1st of October 2019. Their song Release Me was the first announced entry of the Eurovision Song Contest. After the Eurovision Song Contest was cancelled due to Covid 19 pandemia, Hooverphonic’s Eurovision dream was cut halfway through. However, the group was internally selected for the second time for the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest. They were also known to refuse singing Love Shine A Light along with other 2020 represantatives for the Eurovision Shine A Light show back in May 2020.

You may enjoy the official video of Release Me below.

The group was formed in October 1995 as a Trip Hop group. In time, they have enriched their musical background with alternative, electronica, electropop genres, and a mixture of others. From the beginning, the group consisted of bassist Alex Callier, guitarist Raymond Geerts, and various lead singers (Liesje Sadonius (1996 – 1997), Geike Arnaert (1997 – 1998 and present), Noemie Wolfs (2010 – 2015) and Luka Cruysberghs (2018–2020).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *